An Incomplete Lenten Playlist

Hey – here are the songs from my ipod that I put in the ‘Lent’ playlist. There are major songs missing. But this is what I had in front of me at the moment. I will be adding more.. and will keep you posted!

Title Duration Artist Album Title
Down To The River To Pray 2:56 Alison Krauss O Brother, Where Art Thou?
One Pure and Holy Passion 4:32 Amy Nobles To The Ends of the Earth
Seize The Day 5:43 Carolyn Arends I Can Hear You
Only Time Will Tell 4:13 Carolyn Arends Under the Gaze
The head that once was crowned with thorns 2:27 The Choir Of Trinity College, Cambridge Hymns & Descants
Five Mystical Songs: 4. the Call 2:21 Choristers of St Paul’s Cathedral How Can I Keep from Singing?
Simple Gifts (‘Tis a Gift to be simple, ’tis a gift to be free) 2:18 Dale Warland Singers Harvest Home
Lord You Have My Heart 2:58 Delirious? Cutting Edge (Disc 1)
King Of Love 2:50 Delirious? Cutting Edge (Disc 1)
Handel: Messiah, HWV 56 – Then Shall The Eyes Of The Blind Be Opened
Handel: Messiah, HWV 56 – He Shall Feed His Flock Like A Shepherd
Handel: Messiah, HWV 56 – He Was Despised 4:57
When All Thy Mercies 2:54 Fernando Ortega
Jesus, King Of Angels 12:49 Fernando Ortega
More Love to Thee 3:08 Fernando Ortega Fernando Ortega
O Sacred Head, Now Wounded 4:29 Fernando Ortega Hymns & Meditations
Near The Cross 3:46 Fernando Ortega Hymns & Meditations
Nothing But The Blood 4:01 Fernando Ortega Hymns & Meditations
Con Que Pargaremos? 3:45 Fernando Ortega Hymns & Meditations
I Need Thee Every Hour 8:06 Fernando Ortega Hymns & Meditations
This Time Next Year 4:17 Fernando Ortega Storm
Sing To Jesus 5:11 Fernando Ortega Storm
I Will Wait for My Change 5:48 Fernando Ortega This Bright Hour
Grace and Peace w/Steph 3:30 Fernando Ortega Toronto Live
Lord Most High 4:17 Gary Sadler & Don Harris 16 Biggest Praise & Worship Songs, Vol. 2
Field of Your Soul 3:58 Greg & Rebecca Sparks Field of Your Soul
I See The Lord 3:14 Honeytree Pioneer
Communion Song 4:30 John Michael Talbot The Lord’s Supper
Glory And Praise To Our God 2:47 John Michael Talbot
The Lord bless you and keep you 2:40 John Rutter Requiem
I Will Lift Up Mine Eyes 7:21 John Rutter Requiem
Ubi Caritas 2:16 John Rutter & the Cambridge Singers Brother Sun, Sister Moon
Here With Us 4:53 Joy Williams Come, Let Us Adore Him
Turn, Turn, Turn! (To Everything There Is a Season) 3:40 Judy Collins Forever
From The Highest of Heights 5:59 Kate Simmonds The Power of the Cross
Wonderful, Merciful Savior 3:49 Kim Hill For Such A Time As This
The Power of the Cross 5:31 Lou Fellingham The Power of the Cross
I Remember You 2:02 Mac Powell & Gene Eugene City On A Hill
Blessed Be Your Name 5:49 Matt Redman The Songs of Matt Redman, Vol. 1
Be Thou My Vision 3:28 Michael Card Starkindler
I Will Arise And Go To Jesus/Musical Priest 3:23 Michael Card Starkindler
Let All Things Now Living 3:11 Michael Card Starkindler
The King Of Love My Shepherd Is 2:58 Michael Card Starkindler
I Heard The Voice Of Jesus Say/Blarney Pilgrim 4:49 Michael Card Starkindler 

Small Enough (w/Fernando Ortega) 4:15 Nichole Nordeman This Mystery
Grace Flows Down 4:24 Passion One Day Live
Sweet Mercies 5:27 Passion Worship Band Live Worship 

Watch the Lamb 7:20 r/Ray Boltz
The Love of God 2:49 Rich Mullins Never Picture Perfect
Jacob and 2 Women 3:04 Rich Mullins The World As Best As I Remember It, Vol.
Calling Out Your Name 4:54 Rich Mullins The World As Best As I Remember It, Vol. 1
I See You 5:28 Rich Mullins The World As Best As I Remember It, Vol. 1
Step By Step 2:22 Rich Mullins The World As Best As I Remember It, Vol. 1
Sometimes By Step 2:57 Rich Mullins The World As Best As I Remember It, Vol. 2
You Are Still Holy 4:38 Rita Springer Change My Heart, O God
Jesus, All For Jesus 11:17 Robin Mark Revival In Belfast
Be Unto Your Name 5:13 Robin Mark Revival In Belfast
This Journey Is My Own 5:50 Sara Groves Conversations
Compelled 5:18 Sara Groves Live from Messiah College
The Word 4:22 Sara Groves Live from Messiah College –
Help Me Be New 4:40 Sara Groves Past The Wishing
Awakening 4:07 Sara Groves Past The Wishing
Testimony 4:40 Sara Groves Past The Wishing
When the Saints 4:13 Sara Groves Tell Me What You Know
It Might Be Hope 3:49 Sara Groves Tell Me What You Know
Beautiful Savior 4:14 St. Olaf Choir Great Hymns of Faith
Abide With Me 4:06 St. Olaf Choir Great Hymns of Faith
Here I Am, Lord 5:27 St. Olaf Choir Great Hymns of Faith
My Song Is Love Unknown 3:28 King’s College, Cambridge, Best Loved Hymns
The Lord’s My Shepherd 2:45 King’s College, Cambridge Best Loved Hymns
By My Side 3:29 Stephen Schwartz Godspell – 2001 National Tour
Love That Will Not Let Me Go 5:11 Steve Camp Doing My Best
Cinderella (Acoustic Version) 4:28 Steven Curtis Chapman This Moment
O Church Arise 4:41 Stuart Townend The Power of the Cross
In Christ Alone 4:48 Stuart Townend See What a Morning
King of Glory 6:21 Third Day Offerings-A Worship Album
Mozart- Ave, Verum Corpus 2:54 Trinity College Choir
Where He Leads Me 5:34 Twila Paris My Utmost for His Highest
I Will Listen 3:42 Twila Paris Where I Stand
Stand — Susan Ashton 4:36 Various Artists
At The Cross 3:07 Vineyard Music with Brian Doerksen Isn’t He
The Voice Of God 5:31 4HIM Christian Classics – Inspirational
Come Down, O Love Divine 3:41 Vaughan Williams Hymnal
Organ prelude on Hyfrydol 3:09 Vaughan Williams Hymnal
Wherefore, O Father 2:11 Vaughan Williams Hymnal

 

Notes: Yes, there’s a Christmas song on this list. It shuffled into my headphones last week and I have to tell you that it took my breath away hearing it during Lent. Oh my. 

Notable absences: Stricken, Smitten, and Afflicted – Fernando Ortega, Night of Your Return
I Come By the Blood, The Look, Before the Throne – Sovereign Grace Ministries worship resources – their stuff is the best stuff around on the Cross. One album called ‘Songs for the Cross Centered Life’ and another called ‘Upward: The Hymns Project’ are worth the price of admission. Find them here.

8 thoughts on “An Incomplete Lenten Playlist

  1. Steph!
    Have I had a joyous day browsing here! Just not enough time…yet, to read it through and through, but I will!
    How are things going for you and yours?

    Yours in Christ,

    Ruth Ann

  2. Hah! My ipod and I – well, whither I goest, therefore it shall go… it’s our kitchen soundtrack, it goes in the minivan… We’re a music family. What can I say? 🙂

  3. Our worship pastor just sent me an email wondering if I had any song ideas for Palm Sunday/G. Friday and Easter. Can I give him this list and take credit for it? haha. So glad to know of your blog, Steph. ‘Hope you are well. Miss ya.

  4. Steph, STEPH!!!

    You should’ve seen me Sunday morning, when I heard Fernando Ortega sing “When All Your Mercies, O My God”. As it started, I said to Curt, “This is my favorite song on this album.” I grew up singing it (to that tune, it makes a difference, don’t ya know) and it is one of those that for whatever reason, has fallen out of use.

    When he finished the first verse with I’m lost in wonder, love and praise I started jumping up and down and waving my hands. *ThAT* is why Steph calls her blog Wonder, Love and Praise! I was so excited! I didn’t have time to sit down and write you at the moment, but it was *a moment*!!

    When I first heard it on Fernando’s CD, I scoured through my hymnal collection and found three or four other verses.

    Here’s one:

    When in the slipp’ry paths of youth with heedless steps I ran,
    Thine arm, unseen, conveyed me safe and led me up to man.

    And another:

    When nature fails and day and night divide Thy works no more,
    My ever-grateful heart, O Lord, Thy mercies shall adore.

    When I made the connection with your blog title, it was as if I had found the secret code to a great message.

    Oh, I want to meet you someday, my friend!

    Love,

    Carol

  5. Hey Steph:
    Can’t get a reply on Donna’s blog. So didn’t know whether you wanted to say where you’re going to be moving to on there or not. Was curious and excited about where your family is going to be moving to? I was sure hoping it might just be East Texas! The Search Committee is STILL searching I think!

    Please keep me posted on the dates for Tyler, Texas! I will be there.

    Have a great day.

    Ruth Ann
    my email is ruthann48@sbcglobal.net

Leave a Reply

