Lenten Hymns – A Journey of Devotion

It’s hard to believe, but we are only a week away from Ash Wednesday, the beginning of the holiest contemplation of the year – the journey to the cross, culminating in the celebration of the empty tomb. Landing in a liturgical tradition has been a remarkable gift to me in experiencing the power of the cross in a deeper way, and I have discovered a wealth of hymnody that has helped me along the way.

To that end, and to mark this lenten season, I will be writing a series of reflections on some hymns that have caused me to stop and take a breath and ponder anew the cross of Christ – in order to better and more fully experience the true Alleluia celebration of the empty tomb. I hope you’ll join me here each week, beginning next Wednesday, February 25th. 

Let us, as fellow sojourners, not miss the blessing of the journey. Let us be like Jesus, who for the joy set before Him, endured the cross, scorning its shame.

9 thoughts on “Lenten Hymns – A Journey of Devotion

  1. I will be here. Looking forward to richness and wealth.

    I just received a book in the mail: Stories Behind the Traditions and Songs of Easter by Ace Collins. I know nothing about it – if it’s good or, cough cough, cheesy.

    I do love songs about the cross. Isaac Watts. When I was with my black friends we sang “Alas, and Did My Savior Bleed” very slowly to add the beat, and antiphonally At the cross (at the cross) At the cross (at the cross) Where I first (where I first) saw the light (saw the light). Oh that rich three-part harmony!

    Sojourning with you,

    Carol

Leave a Reply

