From Where I Sit…

 

…the dog is chomping on his pig’s ear, the oldest is diagramming sentences, the middle boy is playing pod racer with his legos, the girl is coloring, and the baby is sleeping. The remnants of the pancake breakfast still linger, but it’s mostly cleaned up – just needs another wipe down. It’s standard issue here this morning.

 

This weekend we’ll have our annual congregational meeting at St. Michael’s, where the now-public news of the Assistant Rector’s upcoming departure, will be discussed. This is significant because the Assistant Rector happens to be my husband.  The economy has hit St. Mike’s hard – I suppose like any other place. But they can only afford an assistant until June 1. So we’re on the move again!  And it’s ok. We are eager to land somewhere and be part of a community for our children to settle in and make friends, but these years of our sojourning have been good – so good – for our family. For we are knit together… we are dependent on one another… our children are inseparable… we have the greatest dog ever… and we have the blessing of being connected to another community of faith. What a privilege!

 

Ministry life seems to me to be a transient life. And that, too, is ok with me, because it teaches me the greater truth that this life – this whole life – is a transient life, and this world is certainly not my home, nor my prize, nor my goal. 

 

My 2009 calendar is filling up with lots of fun events, lots of great gigs. My hands are healing up wonderfully – I am so grateful for that, I can’t even really describe it, and in fact I look down sometimes and I think, “I canNOT believe these surgeries happened! This thing for which I’ve been waiting for years is over and done..”. What a joy!

 

Back to it. Pray for Dad if you think of him. His heart, which has been a miracle heart since 1976, is failing. And pray for Terry, a dear friend whose heart is working at 10% capacity and has just been moved to the transplant list. Pray that he stays stable enough to receive the transplant.

 

With gratitude….

Steph

One thought on “From Where I Sit…

  1. You are in a very hectic time of life…my goodness! Do you know yet where your hubby will be ministering/working at next?

    I love your wonderful, cheerful, positive attitude. I’m sure your attitude is going to make it easier on everyone in your family.

    I’ll be praying for you Steph!

Leave a Reply

