Quick Advent Update

Tinsel and things

 

O come, Thou Day-spring, come and cheer
Our spirits by Thine advent here;
Disperse the gloomy clouds of night,
And death’s dark shadows put to flight.
Rejoice! Rejoice!
Emmanuel shall come to thee,
O Israel.

 

 

I’m feelin’ a little gloomy today, so that verse of the well-known Advent hymn ‘O Come O Come Emmanuel’ is doing it for me. Briefly..

…It’s wet, cloudy, gray, and generally gross outside. I’d rather have snow than this stuff. It’s not even officially winter yet. I need to get a grip.

 

…I’m t-minus- 36 hours from a trip to the hospital for my first carpal tunnel repair surgery. I’ve been wanting this surgery for 10 years.. finally found the time for it… and I go from having forgotten about it to being slightly terrified. My hands are a very significant part of the way the Lord has wired me musically. I’m totally debilitated in my piano playing without the procedure… and completely spooked at the thought of getting my hands cut open and repaired. In the grand scheme of things, people have got it a whole lot worse – of that I’m fully aware. I’ll let you all know how things are by mid-week – hopefully I’ll be typing again by then, at least a little. The doctor wants me playing piano the day after the surgery — ‘no better therapy or rehab’. I’m sure all will be well.

 

…also confronted some of the issues that one faces with aging, declining-in-health parents. Praying for lots of grace and wisdom on that front.

 

O come, Thou Key of David, come,
And open wide our heavenly home;
Make safe the way that leads on high,
And close the path to misery.
Rejoice! Rejoice!
Emmanuel shall come to thee,
O Israel.

 

Come, Lord Jesus.

-Steph

3 thoughts on “Quick Advent Update

  1. Praying, dear Steph! Your surgery has come up so quickly! You’ll do great…follow the doc’s instructions and play the piano which will be good therapy for more than just your hand! Do you suppose typing in scrabble words is good therapy, too? *wink*

    And I understand about needing wisdom for loving parents through the changes of the aging years. It’s not easy and you muddle a lot, but God’s grace covers even those unfamiliar areas of our life.

    Hang in there!

    Blessings,
    Tammy ~@~

  2. Love you!
    Every thing is going to be okay.

    God is near and He is in control!!!

    I hope your are not in too much pain! I really hate pain.

    I will be praying for the doctors and nurses and you tomorrow!

  3. I’m so sorry I missed this post earlier…I read about your surgery on Donna’s blog though and was praying for you. I’m so glad to hear that you are doing well now.

    I am scheduled for eye surgery on Friday (laser surgery) and am completely terrified. I have a huge phobia about surgery and am trying not to die from hyperventilation between now and Friday. (I’m just a bit overdramatic, aren’t I?) I’m really looking forward to getting some valium into myself as soon as I possibly can. 🙂

    I hope you continue to heal and that you’ll be back to your piano playing days as soon as possible.

    ~Angie

Leave a Reply

